Latest Broadband Reviews

Your broadband reviews are crucial to helping Kiwis make an informed decision on their next broadband provider so please take 60 seconds to review your current NZ internet provider below. A review of your current provider allows the ISP’s to gather real feedback from customers and gives you the opportunity to highlight anything great or not so great that you may have experienced. Please submit a review below.

10 February 2020
Dianne Macdonnell 7.8
text) > 500) : ?> Joined LightWire in 2008 - a fantastic, ground-breaking Kiwi company. Sadly, became too expensive and speeds can't match other companies like yourselves. Their support team is simply excellent though - calls answered quickly always, and problems always sorted quickly.
Love the company. Just not able to continue with them, and they understand. ...read more Joined LightWire in 2008 - a fantastic, ground-breaking Kiwi company. Sadly, became too expensive and speeds can't match other companies like yourselves. Their support team is simply excellent though - calls answered quickly always, and problems always sorted quickly.
Love the company. Just not able to continue with them, and they understand.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Most admirable Kiwi company. Super-excellent support. ...read more Most admirable Kiwi company. Super-excellent support.
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Now too expensive and speeds can't match other companies like yourselves. ...read more Now too expensive and speeds can't match other companies like yourselves.
08 February 2020
Scott Pritchard 8.4
text) > 500) : ?> Great company, reliable and well priced would have stayed if they could provide fibre ...read more Great company, reliable and well priced would have stayed if they could provide fibre
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Well priced ...read more Well priced
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> No fibre plan ...read more No fibre plan
07 February 2020
Tracy Olberg 9.0
text) > 500) : ?> I was in the process of switching my Mum's ISP from Spark to MyRepublic, based on the survey, when I discovered that Spark offered a great offer for unlimited wifi AND NetFlix (Netflix was the reason I was looking at swapping providers). According to this new deal, my Mum is paying the exact same amount for internet, however it now includes NetFlix. For this reason alone, I have changed her plan, but kept her with Spark. ...read more I was in the process of switching my Mum's ISP from Spark to MyRepublic, based on the survey, when I discovered that Spark offered a great offer for unlimited wifi AND NetFlix (Netflix was the reason I was looking at swapping providers). According to this new deal, my Mum is paying the exact same amount for internet, however it now includes NetFlix. For this reason alone, I have changed her plan, but kept her with Spark.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Great deal on unlimited wifi, which includes Netflix. ...read more no
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> ...read more no
04 February 2020
Emanuel Correia 7.0
text) > 500) : ?> They have been great in the past and have helped through tough situations, but of recent they have outside support teams who cant really help you when you need help. ...read more They have been great in the past and have helped through tough situations, but of recent they have outside support teams who cant really help you when you need help.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> In the past they were always obliging and understanding ...read more In the past they were always obliging and understanding
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Not able to be understanding when you in a situation ...read more Not able to be understanding when you in a situation
04 February 2020
Gareth Ranger 8.4
text) > 500) : ?> Excellent provider with a stable connection but prices are not as competitive as others. ...read more Excellent provider with a stable connection but prices are not as competitive as others.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Stable, Reliable, Reasonable customer service ...read more Stable, Reliable, Reasonable customer service
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Non-competitive pricing, Mistakes made when changing residence ...read more Non-competitive pricing, Mistakes made when changing residence
03 February 2020
Phillip Bridge 2.8
text) > 500) : ?> Just dont do it. Its not worth saving the $10-15/month as you will consume that in hours trying to sort issues. Several issues i have had:
1. Phoning thier 0508, once you're a client doesn't work as they IDypu and will accept browser based chat only unless you prefix calling from a cellphone with #31# to hode your number.
2. As above, the browser chat will crash your browser. Over and over again. Even though they know who you are snd your cell number, they wont contact you back.
3. You wont be able to login online to check your account. If you csn, you soon wont, then you need to go through 1 and 2 above.
4. When you loose your credit card, your payment will fail, they will add $10, you can login to finish a late payment but because your normal login doesn't work you cant fix it unless you go through 1 to 3 continually.
5. Wheb you do pay, you will get a confirmation of payment at 1pm, then at about 2.30pm the same day they will send a tect and email saying you are suspended for non payment, then you have to go through 1 to 5 above continually.

Eventually you'll figure out its not worth $50 a month cheaper.....it was awful....all finisged off with bad hold music and americanised accents....just delicious!
...read more Just dont do it. Its not worth saving the $10-15/month as you will consume that in hours trying to sort issues. Several issues i have had:
1. Phoning thier 0508, once you're a client doesn't work as they IDypu and will accept browser based chat only unless you prefix calling from a cellphone with #31# to hode your number.
2. As above, the browser chat will crash your browser. Over and over again. Even though they know who you are snd your cell number, they wont contact you back.
3. You wont be able to login online to check your account. If you csn, you soon wont, then you need to go through 1 and 2 above.
4. When you loose your credit card, your payment will fail, they will add $10, you can login to finish a late payment but because your normal login doesn't work you cant fix it unless you go through 1 to 3 continually.
5. Wheb you do pay, you will get a confirmation of payment at 1pm, then at about 2.30pm the same day they will send a tect and email saying you are suspended for non payment, then you have to go through 1 to 5 above continually.

Eventually you'll figure out its not worth $50 a month cheaper.....it was awful....all finisged off with bad hold music and americanised accents....just delicious!
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Price, nothing else. ...read more Price, nothing else.
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Customer support is very poor. Backend systems also poor. Worse than budget. You will more than consume savings trying to fix issues. ...read more Customer support is very poor. Backend systems also poor. Worse than budget. You will more than consume savings trying to fix issues.
03 February 2020
Sundeia Lomberg 10.0
text) > 500) : ?> Great customer service with clear, quick responses, good products and well priced as well. ...read more Great customer service with clear, quick responses, good products and well priced as well.
02 February 2020
Bing 5.8
text) > 500) : ?> Broadband is good, value is good, but customer service is terrible. For a company who should have managed the change over of my ISP providers, they didn't. I would recommend that you manage everything yourself or face endless bills. Worse thing is after all the emails (for documentation), not a single person ever said sorry, or at least sorry for the inconvenience. ...read more Broadband is good, value is good, but customer service is terrible. For a company who should have managed the change over of my ISP providers, they didn't. I would recommend that you manage everything yourself or face endless bills. Worse thing is after all the emails (for documentation), not a single person ever said sorry, or at least sorry for the inconvenience.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Good price, good Internet ...read more Good price, good Internet
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Endless stress when contacting them. Good luck getting a straight answer. ...read more Endless stress when contacting them. Good luck getting a straight answer.
31 January 2020
Tracey Pool 2.8
text) > 500) : ?> Huge data usage spikes with no explanation. Since inquiry hasnt happened again and usage back to normal. Way over priced. ...read more Huge data usage spikes with no explanation. Since inquiry hasnt happened again and usage back to normal. Way over priced.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Easy to set up. Answer their calls ...read more Easy to set up. Answer their calls
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Explanation for data usage ...read more Explanation for data usage
31 January 2020
Emma Halsey 6.2
text) > 500) : ?> Great simple internet, unfortunately not fast enough for our 5-person household requirements ...read more Great simple internet, unfortunately not fast enough for our 5-person household requirements
Showing 10 of 1915 reviews

Leave a review of provider

Reliability
7
Speed
7
Support
7
Features
7
Value
7
Login
×
Log in with
Sign up for free NZ Compare account
×
Log in with
3 Great Offers
×
offer
EXPIRES 06/07/2020
Slingshot Exclusive Offer
Unlimited Fibre 100 - ONLY $62.95/mth
Terms and Conditions apply
offer
EXCLUSIVE DEAL
Get FREE Premium WiFi extender plus
Mega savings with Megatel Bundle plans.
T&C's apply
offer
EXCLUSIVE OFFER
Get 3 months FREE broadband
On a 12-month contract
T&C's apply