Leave a review of Contact Energy Broadband

Reliability
7
Speed
7
Support
7
Features
7
Value
7

Terms of Use and Privacy Policy apply

Contact Energy Broadband

Contact Energy now offer Broadband. You can sign up to Contact Energy unlimited broadband service if you have your residential electricity account with Contact Energy at the same address – this means everything is wrapped up together with the convenience of one bill and one number to call. Easy as! This includes single energy, distributed generation or DualEnergy (excl. LPG).

Contact Energy are one of New Zealand's largest listed companies but we operate with the same genuine concern for our customers and communities as the smallest. We are integral to our customers' lives – and our customers are integral to us. We keep the lights burning, the hot water flowing and the BBQ fired up for over half a million homes and businesses across New Zealand.  Compare Contact Energy Broadband prices and Contact Energy Broadband deals at Broadband Compare.

** NOTE: The above information has been provided by the «Contact Energy» or reproduced from their website **

Total: 4.3
Reliability 4.3
Speed 4.6
Support 3.8
Features 4.0
Value 4.6
Average from 25 reviews
Showing 1-5 of 25 items.
2020-11-28 14:33:48
Rachel Biddles 1.0
Used to be really good. I didn't bother with fibre because the existing speeds were good. Now since the 'upgrade'. It is either slow or down. Constantly. Customer service useless and do not listen - just take me through standard trouble shooting that I already did. I have school reports to write and my daughter revising for exams. No time frame of the problem even being looked at. Terrible.
Pros
Go back to their previous service provider
Cons
See above review. I would not recommend
2020-11-20 12:30:24
Steve S 1.0
Absolutely useless. Speeds are dial up speeds and I am constantly using my mobile data at home!! Dont even bother save the heartache and go elsewhere
2020-10-19 16:53:32
Alan 2.6
I was apalled to be told that it would take another 1.5 - 2 weeks for a second tier of technical help to get back to me to try to get my internet working. This was after the 1st tier provided a very low level of trouble shooting. I asked if they could send me out a new router to see if that was the issue however they said they absolutely could not do that. I had to wait 7 - 10 working days to hear from someone who could authorise sending one. They seemed to consider that this was acceptable service. We have three people working from home so internet is an essential service for us, however this made no difference. I had three choices, wait (no), change ISPs and hope they one could connect faster, or buy a new router to eliminate that as a problem. I bought a new router and with the settings provided by Contact it also didn't work. I tried other settings and with it setup on Static IP address it worked fine. I tried the old Contact modem with my settings, and that now worked, so Contact:
1. Consider that it's acceptable for customers to be without internet for two weeks
2. Don't know the settings for setting up their modems
3. Can't authorise anything, like a replacement modem, to help customers get back on-line earlier
4. Have pretty low level staff to respond to general technical problems, after that you wait internet free for up to two weeks.
5. Are woefully understaffed if it takes up to two weeks for a tech to call you back

When the service does work it is patchy and sometimes hangs up when just streaming one TV - wasn't fibre supposed to fix this?
So if that is all acceptable to you to then go ahead, choose Contact Broadband and have fun.
...read more
Pros
Price
Cons
Really, really, really poor customer service and time frames. Totally unacceptable for an essential service provider. Internet speeds and connection are patchy.
2020-10-01 04:17:56
Marie 10.0
Quick and efficient
2020-09-22 09:56:27
CD 7.0
They are cheap, provide an average service, but became unstable these days, and high latency for games.
Pros
Cheap
Cons
high latency for games, unstable
Showing 1-5 of 25 items.
Fully informed choice
Sep 27, 2019
Fully informed choice
Too many Kiwi households are paying more than they should for broadband.  Make a fully informed choice with Broadband Compare.
Lady looking relaxed and happy after bundling her power and broadband
Jul 19, 2019
How to bundle your Broadband and Power
Life admin getting you down? Dealing with different providers or billing cycles for services like broadband, electricity, gas and phone are part of life. But you can streamline your life by “Bundling” your power and broadband to….
Get the most out of your fibre broadband experience
Mar 31, 2019
Get the most out of your fibre broadband experience
There are a range of factors that can affect your fibre broadband performance. Don’t suffer with a poor broadband service. Check out these tips to get the most out of your fibre broadband experience. 
Login
×
Log in with
Sign up for free NZ Compare account
×
Log in with
3 Great Offers
×
offer
Unlimited Broadband from $59/m
When you BYO modem
Limited time offer
T&C's apply
offer
Slingshot Exclusive Offer
Unlimited Fibre 100 - ONLY $64.95/mth
Plus Bundle Discounts
T&C's apply
offer
Get a FREE Google® Chromecasts
And a free rental router
On a 12-month plan
T&C's apply