Latest Broadband Reviews

Your broadband reviews are crucial to helping Kiwis make an informed decision on their next broadband provider so please take 60 seconds to review your current NZ internet provider below. A review of your current provider allows the ISP’s to gather real feedback from customers and gives you the opportunity to highlight anything great or not so great that you may have experienced. Please submit a review below.

01 June 2023
Liam Meltzer 9.0
When Contact spend 5 days still not connect my internet at my new address, I found Hotshot on Google as then advertised sameday connect. Initially I had some concerns as their plans were too cheap to be true (the fiber max plan was probably the cheapest in NZ), besides this, I never heard of this company before.
Ring them to confirm and they told me that I wasn't in the Chorus area, so it might take around 24 hours to connect me but they will try prioritize my order, and they guaranteed that all their plans were open term, I can get my money back if they failed to connect me. So I signed up for their fiber 50 the cheapest option, made the payment, set up my router, and waited.
After just 5 hours, I saw the internet connection coming through. After a week long trouble-free experience, I decided to switch to fiber max plan. Speedtest no issues (thanks to my reliable router). I think I will staying with them in the long term.
...read more
Pros
fast connect speed, easy setup, ipv4
Cons
no hyper fibre plan
01 June 2023
Julia Eveni 9.0
Amazing customer services. I would definitely recommend it
Pros
Helpful, friendly, great customer services
Cons
N/A
30 May 2023
Ray Hawken 1.2
With average download speeds of 0.2 Mbps it was a no brainer to find a new provider who provides consistent speeds in excess of 80 Mbps for less than I was paying Farmside . The problem is that Farmside keep signing up customers despite knowing that the towers are congested . If you ring the call centre expect to be waiting a long time and they usually take at least 2 days to respond to emails .
Pros
None
Cons
For $1200 a year I expected a service that reliably connected to the internet when I required it .
29 May 2023
Kate 9.0
Excellent customer service. Highly recommend.
27 May 2023
Uan Spijkerbosch 7.0
I use Wicked Internet at home, and in fact, I run the company, but we have no reviews and that is sad. However, our networks is pretty damn stable and our support is pretty damn awesome too
Pros
We usually answer a call, with a human, within 2 minutes. Great Mesh options for home and the guy on the phone is one desk away from the other fella running the network.
Cons
Too committed to make sure it's working. too focused on the network, not on the marketing. Is that a con?
22 May 2023
Mark 9.0
Just the beginning. Provided my own mesh wifi, they were fast and helpful with getting it set up.
Pros
Quick response. Very fast switchover.
Cons
None
12 May 2023
Calvin 8.2
I recently had the pleasure of using Hotshot's services, and I must say, I was thoroughly impressed. Despite activating my connection during the weekend, they were able to get everything up and running in just one day. Everything runs seamlessly.
11 May 2023
Ash 8.0
I signed up, attracted by the 6 month offer, as well as the fact they do some carbon offsetting. I already had a working modem (owned not rented) so checked with zeronet's online chat box that the model would work. I was assured that there might be a few steps and potentially a reset required, but it would work. On the switchover date, it did not work. It took 1hr and 15minutes of idiotically going around in circles with the "have you tried resetting it" chat box operator before it was finally escalated to someone more competent actually ringing me. Then I finally had it confirmed that everything was working at their end, so actually maybe the router wasn't going to work with Zeronet. They offered to sell/rent one to me, it would take some days to arrive, but as I work from home with a big data requirement, that wasn't acceptable, so I had to rush to the mall and buy a new router with hardly any time to research which router was best for me. Lost half a day of work and had to make up for it at night.
In short, take their offer of BYO router with a grain of salt, have a backup plan on switchover day, and whatever happens, if you ever need help with anything don't bother wasting time with the chat box, just tell it to escalate to a phone call immediately.
...read more
Pros
Carbon offsetting, good 6 month deal, fast & reliable (to date)
Cons
The chatbox operator(s) are a bit clueless/treat you like a moron/and take several minutes to respond each time you submit text.
09 May 2023
Will Kay 1.8
Requested a new connection. Was not actioned. Followed up after two weeks with no response. Followed up again a month later and they had not even lodged the connection request with Chorus
Pros
None
Cons
Unreliable sales team poor response time on chat
08 May 2023
Shelley 9.4
Really happy with NOW for my internet . I’ve had awesome service from them and also when I moved house it was easy and fast to get it all changed over too ..
Onky ever had one issue with my broadband and they called me back to sort the issue n then again a few days later to make sure all was still ok … I’m pretty impressed with that service ..!!!
Showing 10 of 2058 reviews

Leave a review of provider

Reliability
7
Speed
7
Support
7
Features
7
Value
7
Login
×
Log in with
Sign up for free NZ Compare account
×
Log in with
3 Great Offers
×
Switch to Sky Broadband Today!
Limited Time Offer: 50% Off
Offer ends 30 June 2024.
T&Cs apply.
Switch to Sky Broadband Today!
Limited Time Offer: 50% Off
Offer ends 30 June 2024.
T&Cs apply.
Join Contact on any energy plan and get a $400 credit when you add broadband. 
*T&Cs apply. Promo code ‘CONTACT400’
Join Contact on any energy plan and get a $400 credit when you add broadband.
*T&Cs apply. Promo code ‘CONTACT400’
Unlimited Fibre Broadband from $71/m
Say whaaaaaaat!! Limited time only. 
T&Cs apply.
Unlimited Fibre Broadband from $71/m
Say whaaaaaaat!! Limited time only.
T&Cs apply.