EXCLUSIVE DEAL - Get 3 months FREE broadband plus free GIGABIT router

Latest Broadband Reviews

Your broadband reviews are crucial to helping Kiwis make an informed decision on their next broadband provider so please take 60 seconds to review your current NZ internet provider below. A review of your current provider allows the ISP’s to gather real feedback from customers and gives you the opportunity to highlight anything great or not so great that you may have experienced. Please submit a review below.

15 August 2019
Richard 6.2
When we signed up, Vodaphone was great. Prompt, reliable and responsive. Call centre was based in Auckland and any questions and minor glitches we had upon activation of our VDSL were rectified promptly. Tried to upgrade to the newly installed fibre in our neighbourhood recently and it was the WORST customer service experience I have ever had. Firstly, my original order for the upgrade was never processed. When trying to check on the status of the upgrade, I discovered the call centre was now based off-shore. I was told (through a thick almost indecipherable accent), that the plan I was seeking did not exist and they tried to up-sell me to a more expensive plan, despite the plan being right in front of me on my browser. I sent them a screen grab via email and even then he doubted me and ask that I refresh my browser window. This by the way was after being bounced around between operators and being placed on hold for nearly an hour and a half. Finally when I thought I may as well just proceed and get things rolling, my service rep asked for my Driver's licence ID. I steadfastly refused as this was never necessary in the past. I had always been identified via my billing details. At this point I was fed up, told them I was seeking another provider and asked that they not call me back again. Five minutes later he calls back saying he doesn't need my drivers license because he was able to access my passport number from my account file! He could now sign me up. Why on earth was a call centre operator accessing my passport details (presumably used as ID when I originally signed up). I am outraged and have now left Vodafone and signed up to a new provider. ...read more
Pros
Consistent reliable VDSL speed approaching 100mbs. Once up and running, pretty much hassle free.
Cons
Impenetrable customer service. Call centre has moved off shore and help is incompetent and rude. Often times they would not listen and just assumed I had said something that I had not, like they are reading from a script most of the time.
14 August 2019
Richard 9.2
Simple, reliable, well priced period.
Pros
No frills and reliable, better for IT capable folk
Cons
None
14 August 2019
David Ball 3.0
They push you to roll over the contract, promising cheaper rates, but do not tell you that all quoted prices are GST exclusive - so are misleading. The Vodafone router can not do basic Multicast protocol. This is a major issue and prevents many standard local area networked products from working. Also the 5GHz band Wifi just stops working - even though it reports it is connected - very frustrating!!
Pros
no pros at all
Cons
They have useless service, very hard to get anyone to help, long wait ques, and poor or misleading communication.
14 August 2019
Rafael 1.6
Don't be fooled by the low prices. This is the worst support I've ever seen. I've been trying to contact them for 5 months (!) to fix a slow connection issue (actual 11 Mbps vs 70 Mbps in the contract), and they take days to answer just blahblahblah and nothing actually happens. They don't have a physical address, no telephone to call. And things get even worse: they store our passwords in plain text! This is simply unacceptable.
Pros
At least it seems there's no exit fee
Cons
Slow connection, terrible support, passwords are stored in plain text, no physical address, no telephone, no real time support
13 August 2019
Starmi Staryu 6.0
just realized last week that Stuff Fibre, although voted the best NZ BB provider, is also the 2nd highest costs. in the last one year with them, the internet crashed twice but lagged almost 4 out of 7 days in the night.
Pros
outside 10pm - 5am, speed is great, with only 2 crashes in the whole year.
Cons
2nd highest costs, lags between 10pm - 4am nearly almost every night.
13 August 2019
Rob Burroughs 8.0
Overall I've found Vodafone to be pretty reliable and good value for money. Their package deal with sky TV is also at a great rate.
Pros
Good value package deal, very fair to deal with.
Cons
Wait times on the phone when any issues
13 August 2019
John De Bono 8.6
Great service. Vodafone TV bundle make it worthwhile
Pros
Good speed
Cons
Some reliability issues
13 August 2019
Charlie 8.6
Reliable and good support on the online chat
Pros
Reliable
Cons
Expensive
13 August 2019
Sue Hutchinson 7.0
Have used Spark for a long time and its been all good.
Pros
Spark has always been a very popular company but things have changed over the last few years
Cons
Need to check other deals as they will be good money wise
13 August 2019
Bruce Andrell 3.6
Change over to fibre was a shit experience & ultimately cost me more.
Showing 10 of 1633 reviews

Leave a review of provider

Reliability
7
Speed
7
Support
7
Features
7
Value
7
Login
×
Log in with
Sign up for free NZ Compare account
×
Log in with
3 Great Offers
×
offer
EXCLUSIVE DEAL
Get 3 months FREE broadband
And free GIGABIT router
offer
Unlimited broadband bundle
FREE BONUS with 12-month contract
FREE installation and rental router
offer
EXCLUSIVE DEAL
Get 6 months HALF price
FREE rental router