EXCLUSIVE DEAL - Get 4 months FREE broadband plus free GIGABIT router

Leave a review about Skinny

Reliability
7
Speed
7
Support
7
Features
7
Value
7

Skinny’s whole reason for being is to strip everything back, so you only pay for stuff you actually want at super low prices. It’s based on a model called common sense. Skinny broadband only does award winning mobile and broadband, and it’s all prepay.

Skinny Mobile is a division of Spark New Zealand Trading Limited, and Skinny happily uses Spark's 4G network.

Do I need to use the Skinny router (modem)?

Yes, you do but if you sign up on their 12-month term contract plan, you will get HG659 modem for free. If you prefer to keep things simple and stay out of contracts then you will need to buy it for $99. This router has been configured and works right out of the box with a very simple setup to make things super easy. You cannot bring your own modem to connect to them.

Is it really unlimited?

Correct, their Unlimited Broadband is a fixed-line connection (as opposed to the 4G wireless broadband), which means you can stream all the movies you want and not worry about your data. There is no data limits or caps!

Is Skinny Unlimited Broadband available everywhere?

Anyone who can get a fixed-line internet connection in New Zealand can get ADSL or VDSL plans. You can also get fibre connections in the main centres, including Auckland, Wellington, Hamilton, Tauranga, Palmerston North, Whanganui, Christchurch, Dunedin and many others.

How fast is the connection?

After you enter your address in the address checker, we will show you the best connection type available at your property. Their base plans are the same price, no matter what type of connection you can get, and your speed will totally depend on the connection type. With standard (VDSL or ADSL) connection your maximum speed will be around 10 to 50Mbps (average throughout New Zealand). If fibre is already installed in your house or your address is fibre ready, you will be able to get speed up to 900Mbps. As soon as fibre becomes available at your street, just get in touch with them and they will look at upgrading your connection to fibre.

What about contract?

It is up to you. If you do not want a contract then just pay upfront for the router ($99) and connection fee ($49). They have introduced their first ever 12-month plan as a way to offer an option to cover the initial costs. They have kept it smooth and easy. It is very simple, if you decide to terminate your contract before 12 amonth expired then you would need to pay an exit fee of $199. 

** NOTE: The above information has been provided by the ISP or reproduced from their website **

Total: 5.9
Reliability 5.8
Speed 5.9
Support 5.8
Features 5.3
Value 6.9
Average from 52 reviews
Showing 6-10 of 52 items.
2019-05-20 15:52:18
Ray 2.2
I still have no fibre connection. I’ve contacted Skinny on four separate occasions by phone and email to query why it has taken so long (2 months and counting). Replies are usually weeks apart and did not address any concerns, but instead blamed Chorus. Would not recommend and will be joining another provider.
Pros
None
Cons
Terrible customer service
2019-05-16 16:40:00
Luisa 9.6
Super quick and efficient.
2019-04-29 17:26:29
Trevor 1.0
Terrible service, poor internet connection, lock-in contract "for modem expense" is an absolute joke, and most likely enforced as Skinny know they wouldn't retain customers through the quality of their services.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
2019-04-29 17:15:03
Michelle 1.0
WARNING - AVOID SKINNY BROADBAND!!! Skinny Broadband has the single worst customer service centre I have ever encountered. Everything is too much effort, and they are of very little assistance. They have not yet effectively addressed any of my queries or complaints, despite the MANY errors they have made during my contract.
Completely inefficient, untrained and arrogant staff. Especially disappointing as I chose them as the Skinny mobile customer service team used to be fantastic. The internet connection we have is constantly slow, dropping out, and they allege they see no problem with it. On the countdown for the end of the contract now, and despite being relatively new when I initially signed up, the customer service has gotten progressively worse. They are only interested in making a quick dollar, not actually providing a decent service. WORST INTERNET PROVIDER IN NZ, BY FAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...read more
Pros
We have very basic internet connection, and it was slightly cheaper than our last company.
Cons
Everything - customer service team is absolutely useless and arrogant, internet connection is very poor, modem had to be replaced (about a month into the contract), completely disinterested in any issues as they know they will get their money each month until the contract is up. ...read more
2019-04-10 10:40:07
Kate 6.0
It is good overall, I'm planning to stay with them if I move house
Pros
Stable connection, good customer service, fast problem solving
Cons
1. We were waiting for the installation for 1 month. 2. The hotline is useless. 3. No option to change plan by yourself - you have to write Skinny and wait (2 days in my case).
Showing 6-10 of 52 items.
Share No Evil
Mar 27, 2019
Share No Evil browser extension launches to tackle online terror in NZ
NZ Compare is proud to support Share No Evil.  Share No Evil is a movement to make sharing terrorist content culturally unacceptable in Aotearoa.  With the tap of a button, people can take a small step to help starve terrorism of the oxygen it needs to survive.
A Spotlight on Skinny Broadband
Sep 12, 2018
SPOTLIGHT: Skinny
Check out our latest Spotlight on Skinny Broadband. Skinny offer a stripped-back wireless broadband service. 
Broadband Deals for University Students in NZ
Dec 6, 2017
Broadband Deals for University Students in NZ
We’re very fortunate that the big Universities in New Zealand are now all fibre broadband enabled.  All well and good when on campus… but what about in your digs?  Check out these Student broadband deals for 2018
Fixed Wireless Broadband versus Fixed Line Broadband (ADSL, VDSL, Cable or Fibre)
Mar 15, 2017
Fixed Wireless Broadband versus Fixed Line Broadband (ADSL, VDSL, Cable or Fibre)
Internet providers in New Zealand offer different connection options to broadband subscribers.  These different broadband options are ADSL, VDSL, Cable, Fibre, and now Fixed Wireless.
Login
×
Log in with
Sign up for free NZ Compare account
×
Log in with
3 Great Offers
×
offer
EXCLUSIVE DEAL
Get 4 months FREE broadband
and free GIGABIT router
offer
EXCLUSIVE DEAL
Unlimited broadband bundle
Free bonus with 12-month contract
offer
EXCLUSIVE DEAL
Get 6 months HALF price
The deal expires 31/10/2019