Latest Broadband Reviews

Your broadband reviews are crucial to helping Kiwis make an informed decision on their next broadband provider so please take 60 seconds to review your current NZ internet provider below. A review of your current provider allows the ISP’s to gather real feedback from customers and gives you the opportunity to highlight anything great or not so great that you may have experienced. Please submit a review below.

12 April 2021
Kalisi 8.0
text) > 500) : ?> Started off really slow at initial sign up and had problems (on their end) with my application and I had to wait a week or two for the modem after I had moved into my new place. Its been almost a year since then and I've only had to call them last week because my internet was dropping off occasionally plus I had a billing query. I communicated via email and the response was fast and the information was sufficient and I am very pleased with the service so far. It's also very helpful to download the app to check speed and billing. ...read more Started off really slow at initial sign up and had problems (on their end) with my application and I had to wait a week or two for the modem after I had moved into my new place. Its been almost a year since then and I've only had to call them last week because my internet was dropping off occasionally plus I had a billing query. I communicated via email and the response was fast and the information was sufficient and I am very pleased with the service so far. It's also very helpful to download the app to check speed and billing.
12 April 2021
scott Norris 9.0
text) > 500) : ?> Cant fault them, we are not heavy users but speed is great and they are the cheapest by far for rural where we are ...read more Cant fault them, we are not heavy users but speed is great and they are the cheapest by far for rural where we are
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> cheapest in our area, Technician was really good who installed the dish ...read more cheapest in our area, Technician was really good who installed the dish
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> none at all really ...read more none at all really
09 April 2021
Leonard Cooper 5.2
text) > 500) : ?> I was sold a new upgrade plan from copper to fibre. The salesperson misrepresented the deal. I complained in writing through the 'Contact Us' tab on the NZ Site. The automated response said they would contact me in two business days (Never happened). Two weeks later I phone (Indian Call Centre), explain the issue. Was told I would be contacted in one business day. (Never happened). One week later I repeated the call to (Indian Centre again). I was told they would step it up to Second Level and be contacted. Never happened. I called again to Cancel my new contract. Suddenly I was shunted up a level and offered a 'deal' to stay. Too late! I cancelled the 'new' fibre broadband contract and am now seeking an alternative! Hopeless customer service!!!! ...read more I was sold a new upgrade plan from copper to fibre. The salesperson misrepresented the deal. I complained in writing through the 'Contact Us' tab on the NZ Site. The automated response said they would contact me in two business days (Never happened). Two weeks later I phone (Indian Call Centre), explain the issue. Was told I would be contacted in one business day. (Never happened). One week later I repeated the call to (Indian Centre again). I was told they would step it up to Second Level and be contacted. Never happened. I called again to Cancel my new contract. Suddenly I was shunted up a level and offered a 'deal' to stay. Too late! I cancelled the 'new' fibre broadband contract and am now seeking an alternative! Hopeless customer service!!!!
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> The copper service worked fine. ...read more The copper service worked fine.
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Customer service is always an overseas Call-Centre. Always polite but never fix the issue! ...read more Customer service is always an overseas Call-Centre. Always polite but never fix the issue!
06 April 2021
Kevin 1.2
text) > 500) : ?> I have never been with a company that is so dysfunctional or so dishonest and disrespectful ever! We’ve been applied for the connection two weeks before we moving in our new house. Ever since we applied there is no response until we moved in they called and said that the application has been canceled and they need to redo the whole process. We’ve been waiting in our new house for another two weeks there is still no connection! ...read more I have never been with a company that is so dysfunctional or so dishonest and disrespectful ever! We’ve been applied for the connection two weeks before we moving in our new house. Ever since we applied there is no response until we moved in they called and said that the application has been canceled and they need to redo the whole process. We’ve been waiting in our new house for another two weeks there is still no connection!
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> No ...read more No
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> so dysfunctional or so dishonest and disrespectful ever ...read more so dysfunctional or so dishonest and disrespectful ever
06 April 2021
D Anderson 3.4
text) > 500) : ?> Price is very high and customer service is next to useless. ...read more Price is very high and customer service is next to useless.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Struggling to come up with a Pro tbh ...read more Struggling to come up with a Pro tbh
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Appalling customer service. Highest price around. Speeds are not remotely as fast as advertised. ...read more Appalling customer service. Highest price around. Speeds are not remotely as fast as advertised.
05 April 2021
Lloyd 1.6
text) > 500) : ?> Very poor. Not fit for purpose. Selling a service they are unable to provide.
Broadband speeds fluctuate from 0.26 to 20. External aerial installed - no improvement. Unreliable. Phone via VOIP looses words and cuts out intermittantly. ...read more Very poor. Not fit for purpose. Selling a service they are unable to provide.
Broadband speeds fluctuate from 0.26 to 20. External aerial installed - no improvement. Unreliable. Phone via VOIP looses words and cuts out intermittantly.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> None - it doesn't work well enough ...read more None - it doesn't work well enough
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Unreliable. Way too slow. ...read more Unreliable. Way too slow.
05 April 2021
Dereck Davey 2.2
text) > 500) : ?> Wireless broadband very very slow.
No Internet for 3 days!
Customer services unable to speak and understand English language.
My Account is in total chaos. ...read more Wireless broadband very very slow.
No Internet for 3 days!
Customer services unable to speak and understand English language.
My Account is in total chaos.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Price $55 including land-line, 600mb data ...read more Price $55 including land-line, 600mb data
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Don't touch them ...read more Don't touch them
02 April 2021
Zhongdong wang 7.2
text) > 500) : ?> No ...read more No
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Good service ...read more Good service
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Expensive ...read more Expensive
02 April 2021
Vanessa 1.0
text) > 500) : ?> Trustpower is the worst customer service I have ever experienced.

Their prices are much higher also.

We were a customer for just under a year.
We opted for unlimited everything including internet.

Every power bill received we were shocked at the price

We ordered fibre.
The owners before us had Fibre and so did each of our neighbours.
Trustpower advised it was not available at our address and would need to send someone out to check for install which would take 4-6 weeks.

After 6 weeks with no phone call or visit to check I rung and was advised it could take another 6 weeks.

After many calls, hours waiting on hold and the worst customer service each time we eventually had someone out to check after 16 weeks.

They advised there no fibre available and we would need to install.
We were also advised we would need consent from our neighbours (who all had fibre).

At 20 weeks I rang again to find out what was going on as no one had phoned or emailed us.
We were advised by TP the neighbours had not given consent and we would need to get a copper lead installed for a cost of around $150-$200 for ADSL/VDSL as I knew nothing about this process and we had now been using 4G for 20 weeks and were desperate to find a solution, we said yes to copper.
The copper was installed and the internet on. Extremely slow and often we just used 4G as it was too slow but it was on.

3 months later I noticed a Chorus van in our area installing Fibre for a neighbour a few houses down and I explained my experience with TP to him.

He advised our home had fibre and showed me where it was installed by the previous owners.
Also that all our neighbours have fibre and had provided consent previously so even if we didn’t have fibre (which we did) they could install.

I spoke to a new power and internet company yesterday and have signed up within the hour and have fibre being connected on Monday.
Not only was this so simple for them to offer and provide but their service was incredible.

...read more Trustpower is the worst customer service I have ever experienced.

Their prices are much higher also.

We were a customer for just under a year.
We opted for unlimited everything including internet.

Every power bill received we were shocked at the price

We ordered fibre.
The owners before us had Fibre and so did each of our neighbours.
Trustpower advised it was not available at our address and would need to send someone out to check for install which would take 4-6 weeks.

After 6 weeks with no phone call or visit to check I rung and was advised it could take another 6 weeks.

After many calls, hours waiting on hold and the worst customer service each time we eventually had someone out to check after 16 weeks.

They advised there no fibre available and we would need to install.
We were also advised we would need consent from our neighbours (who all had fibre).

At 20 weeks I rang again to find out what was going on as no one had phoned or emailed us.
We were advised by TP the neighbours had not given consent and we would need to get a copper lead installed for a cost of around $150-$200 for ADSL/VDSL as I knew nothing about this process and we had now been using 4G for 20 weeks and were desperate to find a solution, we said yes to copper.
The copper was installed and the internet on. Extremely slow and often we just used 4G as it was too slow but it was on.

3 months later I noticed a Chorus van in our area installing Fibre for a neighbour a few houses down and I explained my experience with TP to him.

He advised our home had fibre and showed me where it was installed by the previous owners.
Also that all our neighbours have fibre and had provided consent previously so even if we didn’t have fibre (which we did) they could install.

I spoke to a new power and internet company yesterday and have signed up within the hour and have fibre being connected on Monday.
Not only was this so simple for them to offer and provide but their service was incredible.

01 April 2021
Alf stiven 8.4
text) > 500) : ?> Vodafone’s broadband suits us well, and with300GB we never run out. ...read more Vodafone’s broadband suits us well, and with300GB we never run out.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Vodafone app is handy. Technicians always polite. ...read more Vodafone app is handy. Technicians always polite.
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Rather hard to get someone to talk to when we have a problem, and people are sometimes hard to understand, but we seldom have a problem. ...read more Rather hard to get someone to talk to when we have a problem, and people are sometimes hard to understand, but we seldom have a problem.
Showing 10 of 2311 reviews

Leave a review of provider

Reliability
7
Speed
7
Support
7
Features
7
Value
7
Login
×
Log in with
Sign up for free NZ Compare account
×
Log in with
3 Great Offers
×
offer
TREAT YOUR SUPERHERO!
Fly over and enter to WIN your household superhero a year of Disney+
offer
Join on an eligible broadband plan from $69/month. Available for Endless mobile customers when you BYO modem. Offer expires 30/06/21. Terms and exit fees apply.
offer
Compare super Power plans and providers! Save yourself from Winter bill-shock, switch today!