Leave a review about Skinny

Reliability
7
Speed
7
Support
7
Features
7
Value
7

Skinny’s whole reason for being is to strip everything back, so you only pay for stuff you actually want at super low prices. It’s based on a model called common sense. Skinny broadband only does award winning mobile and broadband, and it’s all prepay.

Skinny Mobile is a division of Spark New Zealand Trading Limited, and Skinny happily uses Spark's 4G network.

 

** NOTE: The above information has been provided by the ISP or reproduced from their website **

Total: 6.0
Reliability 5.8
Speed 6.0
Support 5.8
Features 5.3
Value 7.0
Average from 49 reviews
Showing 21-25 of 49 items.
2018-06-14 04:43:55
Sharon 1.0
Since moving to Skinny from Vodafone, the service has been really poor, disconnecting many times an hour, and we can't use Chromecast. Support took weeks to get back to us, and there were 40 minute waits to speak with someone on the phone. We were eventually sent a replacement modem, but this was worse, not better in terms of Internet speed and reliability. When we attempted live chat, they gave us the wrong information and asked us to do a test that was not applicable to our fibre service and it brought down the Internet completely. After weeks of this, and insisting on speaking with a supervisor, we were referred to a properly trained technician who advised us after much investigation that we'd been given the wrong information previously during our dealings with support staff. Ultimately, we were advised that the Skinny network could not provide us with stable Internet service at the speeds advertised as part of their package. We are in the process of trying to find another provider. My advice would be to avoid them at all cost. You get (or in this case, don't even get) what you pay for. ...read more
Pros
Cheap
Cons
Slow, unreliable Internet, poor support, poorly trained staff with each staff member telling you something different. Can't use Chromecast with Skinny.
2018-06-12 07:29:05
Ness 4.6
Awful! Support terrible!
2018-05-30 23:15:25
brendan 1.0
Tried to get a new connection for my new build property. Skinny refused to pay the chorus fees for establishing the connection because they are "a low-cost company that doesn't do that". These pricks wasted half a day of my time making me their middle man between themselves and chorus.
I don't leave reviews, but this experience was so terrible that I feel I should.

The best part is they've now sent me a return bag for their modem... The bag is too small hahahaha. They can't even get that right. ...read more
Pros
Absolutely nothing. Unless when you say an "internet connection" what you are actually after is nothing
Cons
everything from customer service to the actual ability to provide basic internet connection
2018-05-24 08:31:49
Rob 8.4
All good. Great app.
2018-03-27 09:38:44
Iwei 9.6
The 4G connection was easy and fast. The 30 days guaranteed refunded very quickly.
Price is reasonable and competitive.
Pros
Price, Easy to connect, Service.
Cons
None
Showing 21-25 of 49 items.
Share No Evil
Mar 27, 2019
Share No Evil browser extension launches to tackle online terror in NZ
NZ Compare is proud to support Share No Evil.  Share No Evil is a movement to make sharing terrorist content culturally unacceptable in Aotearoa.  With the tap of a button, people can take a small step to help starve terrorism of the oxygen it needs to survive.
A Spotlight on Skinny Broadband
Sep 12, 2018
SPOTLIGHT: Skinny
Check out our latest Spotlight on Skinny Broadband. Skinny offer a stripped-back wireless broadband service. 
Broadband Deals for University Students in NZ
Dec 6, 2017
Broadband Deals for University Students in NZ
We’re very fortunate that the big Universities in New Zealand are now all fibre broadband enabled.  All well and good when on campus… but what about in your digs?  Check out these Student broadband deals for 2018
Fixed Wireless Broadband versus Fixed Line Broadband (ADSL, VDSL, Cable or Fibre)
Mar 15, 2017
Fixed Wireless Broadband versus Fixed Line Broadband (ADSL, VDSL, Cable or Fibre)
Internet providers in New Zealand offer different connection options to broadband subscribers.  These different broadband options are ADSL, VDSL, Cable, Fibre, and now Fixed Wireless.
Login
×
Log in with
Sign up for free NZ Compare account
×
Log in with
3 Great Offers
×
offer
EXCLUSIVE DEAL
Get 6 months HALF price
The deal expires 31/08/2019
offer
SPECIAL OFFER
Unlimited broadband bundle
from $64.99/month
offer
FREE SPEED UPGRADE
Get MyRepublic Gamer + FREE Speed Boost