Leave a review of Orcon

Reliability
7
Speed
7
Support
7
Features
7
Value
7

Terms of Use and Privacy Policy apply

Orcon's aim is to bring Best Quality Internet to Kiwis. They want to offer the world's smoothest broadband experience in New Zealand.

Orcon knows innovation is a key to this so constantly push the limits to deliver the newest and greatest solutions to Kiwis. They were first to unbundle the local loop, been ahead of others with Ultra-Fast Broadband and let New Zealanders do more with their unlimited broadband.

They are always fighting to do better and they are proud of their ability to innovate. Their team is filled with amazing people who are knowledgeable and helpful and, basically, just love the Internet. They are small enough company to care and big enough to make a difference.

Orcon is all about the internet and their network is optimised for fibre. That means tonnes of data, plenty of bandwidth, smart data caching technology, and low lag time. They love fast fibre, and that is why they would not dream of doing anything to slow you down like throttling or traffic managing.

They have scrapped data caps and all the plans are now unlimited. They just do not make sense in a world of fibre and 4K Netflix. They want to offer New Zealanders the best broadband possible – and innovation is the way they drive this.

Orcon knows its stuff when it comes to internet. The company was the first to unbundle the local loop, the first to launch a mass-market plug and play VoIP device, and the first to get Kiwis hooked up to ultra-fast broadband.

Orcon offer gigabit residential plans, bringing a new level of broadband speeds to Kiwi consumers, along with ADSL, VDSL and Fibre with or without homeline services dependant on what is available at your broadband region. All of their internet plans offer unlimited data. 

 

** NOTE: The above information has been provided by the ISP or reproduced from their website ** 

Total: 5.7
Reliability 5.7
Speed 6.0
Support 5.1
Features 5.7
Value 5.3
Average from 149 reviews
Showing 6-10 of 149 items.
2020-03-06 19:03:14
Mike Pulham 7.8
I decided to have a change
2019-12-16 12:28:26
Mike Lee 5.4
Worst customer service.... Emailed when initially signing up to tell them I already had fibre installed and had an ont on site. Did not listen and insisted that a technician had to come out to the property. After two weeks of emails and calls and messing around all the while I had no internet, finally got them to contact chorus for remote activation (what I had requested from the start). Then they charge me from when I initially signed up not when my internet was active.
2019-12-02 16:05:42
Gewargis Shlimon 2.8
Unreliable internet service very poor signal especially in the evening and weekend always there is interruption even though i was on their high speed internet which is called gigatanic 950/500 Mega Byte and I called their technical support more than eight times with no improvement and I had no choice other than cancelling the contract and pay $250 early termination fees and move to Stuf fiber provider which is much better than Orcon.The other issue is they don't have contact number to discuss if you have any bill issue. I don't recommend Orcon to anyone it's very frustrating to sign a contract then you find out the service is very poor and you are stucked with the contract or you have to pay $250 to move on to a better proider. ...read more
2019-11-29 09:51:17
John Russell 3.2
This company is a night mare to deal with. Not connected on time, then connected to the wrong house. Poor speeds, stutters and drop outs - this is fibre. Won't refund because they have overcharged unless you make contact with them, - which is clearly theft, and then their process is according to them secure but it clearly isnt.
Pros
Value, email tag - is their best feature
Cons
Inept customer service
2019-10-16 19:08:27
Tony 7.0
I found Orcon good to deal with. I had just moved to the address and there was a little bit of a problem with the connection at the start. The communication to sort this was great and the problem was quickly solved. That was the only time in 18 months that I needed to contact them.
Pros
easy to contact and quick to resolve any conection problems, when you log into your account it is easy to navagate and understand
Cons
I did not have any problems with orcon.
Showing 6-10 of 149 items.
Best Fibre Broadband Provider Broadband Compare Awards 2017 - Finalists
Sep 21, 2017
Best Fibre Broadband Provider Broadband Compare Awards 2017 - Finalists
The finalists in the Best Fibre Broadband Provider category of the Broadband Compare Awards 2017 have been named.  
Sep 11, 2017
ADSL broadband speed report September 2017
We all know how confusing it is that ISPs advertise the same speeds... but are their speeds actually the same?  According to the latest ADSL Truenet.nz report, the speed differences for NZ websites continue to show a wide spread on ADSL providers.  
VDSL broadband speed report September 2017
Sep 11, 2017
VDSL broadband speed report September 2017
Looking for a VDSL connection?  Make sure you are on the best VDSL connection delivering the best VDSL speeds for your money.  Read all about the performance of VDSL internet providers in NZ.
Fibre broadband speed report September 2017
Sep 11, 2017
Fibre broadband speed report September 2017
Who delivers the most consistent and fastest fibre broadband speeds in New Zealand?  This article showcases the fastest fibre broadband providers in NZ from a range of internet providers tested by Truenet.
Broadband Compare celebrates its first year... with some great deals!
Jul 8, 2017
Broadband Compare celebrates its first year... with some great deals!
Broadband Compare is now ONE whole year old!  ...and what a year it has been with over 300,000 comparisons since launch!  
Get awesome Free Technology with selected Broadband Plans
Jan 26, 2017
Get awesome Free Technology with selected Broadband Plans
Choices, choices, choices… did you know that we compare NZ broadband plans from NZ internet providers which give you great, free gadgets?!
Login
×
Log in with
Sign up for free NZ Compare account
×
Log in with
3 Great Offers
×
offer
EXCLUSIVE OFFER
Unlimited Fibre 100 - ONLY $62.95/mth
Terms and Conditions apply
offer
UNLIMITED BROADBAND from $59.99/mth when you bundle with Energy. Limited Time Only. T&C's apply
offer
Get up to $200 CREDIT and
Free Amazon Prime for a year*
Limited-time offer