Leave a review of MyRepublic

Reliability
7
Speed
7
Support
7
Features
7
Value
7

Terms of Use and Privacy Policy apply

MyRepublic

MyRepublic is the New Zealand’s first fibre broadband only Internet Service Provider (ISP). Their plans are truly unlimited and they're ready to unleash the potential of their fibre broadband network from Whangarei up north to Invercargill down in south. They believe in delivering an awesome internet experience for all kiwis at mass-market prices. All this with no lag, no limits and no holding back.

Beyond ultra-fast internet access, their Pure, Gamer and Business fibre broadband plans provide a customised, enhanced level of service that goes far beyond what is possible on older technologies such as ADSL, VDSL or Cable.

MyRepublic started in Singapore in 2011, where they shifted the ISP landscape dramatically and now they plan to do the same here. MyRepublic is committed to delivering the benefits of the UFB for all kiwis.

** NOTE: The above information has been provided by the ISP or reproduced from their website **

Total: 4.9
Reliability 5.0
Speed 5.8
Support 3.5
Features 5.0
Value 5.0
Average from 145 reviews
Showing 1-5 of 145 items.
2021-09-15 11:40:44
Anthony Page 7.0
My Republic were great to deal with initially, they had a phone that they used to talk to you with (wow) then they kept the phone number but ditched the phone (grrr). Communicating with a provider online about an internet problem is a nonsense, e.g., after waiting for 20+ minutes for a tech person who instructs a reboot, connection is then lost, reconnecting to a tech person takes another 20 mins and is likely to be another person who needs the explanation all over again, followed by another instruction which results in disconnecting from the internet and on it goes. Another annoying aspect was the default response that the problem was at my end when it turned out not to be the case. ...read more
Pros
Good price
Cons
See review above
Read a response from the ISP
September 20, 2021
Response from the ISP
Glad to see that my teammate Mark was able to resolve your modem configuration concern via Live Chat last Saturday. Regards, The Team @ MyRepublic
Collapse
2021-09-13 07:28:32
Kurt 2.8
The worst customer support I have come across.

I recently moved house after using their service for over a year. I requested a new connection which took me to an online JotForm to fill out (completely useless and uninformative). I heard nothing back from them, and they gave me no option to contact them to query progress. Their webchat support app didn't work on my phone, iPad or laptop, so I couldn't reach them to speak in real-time. Because I run my business online, I was forced to contact another provider (Orcon - great service and fast response). I then emailed MyRepublic to cancel my account, heard nothing back, but was sent a payment reminder for the upcoming month. I emailed again to say that I had tried to cancel my account, to which they took four days to respond and ensured me that my account would be terminated. Then last night, I checked my bank statement and saw that I had been charged for the month ahead.

Internet speed is good but stay away from these people if you need decent customer support that cares about their customers.
...read more
Pros
Good internet speed, which I would expect from gigabit fibre.
Cons
- Horrendous customer support.
Read a response from the ISP
September 15, 2021
Response from the ISP
We always strive to deliver a seamless experience for our customers, Kurt. Kindly share your account details via email jan.gaspay@myrepublic.net We will address all your concerns. Thank you, Jan - Team Leader
Collapse
2021-09-03 16:46:07
Woody 1.0
Worst customer support Ive ever come across! They don't offer phone support!! Live chat takes forever and waiting times are 30mins plus. Being waiting since last Sunday for connection and they are still charging me for wifi I can't use. Have now canceled my connection due to time wasting. Do not connect to them
Pros
Cons
No phone support. Super long wait times
Read a response from the ISP
September 7, 2021
Response from the ISP
As we continue to evolve and adapt to more efficient customer service, we have transitioned to Live Chat. We are actively working to get back to our less than a minute response on Live Chat. Our Install team sends out order updates. I am unable to pull up your account to review your feedback. Thank you for leaving us a review. Regards, The Team @ MyRepublic
Collapse
2021-09-01 17:58:40
MingLi Ho 6.6
I need to talk to a real person when I have some technical supports instead of just click on a endless looping web page.
Pros
fair rate
Cons
bad support
Read a response from the ISP
September 2, 2021
Response from the ISP
Our Care Team on Live Chat are real people with top notched technical skills to resolve any queries that you may have. We made the troubleshooting guides available for you 24/7 via our website. Based on my review, I can't see any recent live chat interactions. While we offer support over the phone, the majority of our support is over Live Chat. You don't need to put up with lengthy IVRs or wait times anymore and we can answer your questions on the spot. This also gives you the ability to multi-task; you can get on doing something else while we resolve your issue for you. Regards, The Team @ MyRepublic
Collapse
2021-08-27 16:15:06
Dominic Keall-Grant 1.0
This service is terrible. Support is non existent. They have no phone number in NZ that you can call, and a below average Live chat service. Good luck getting a reply in emails also. Avoid at all costs.
Read a response from the ISP
September 2, 2021
Response from the ISP
As we continue to evolve and adapt to more efficient customer service, we have transitioned to Live Chat. When you Live chat with us and if we deem that an outbound call is necessary to resolve your concerns, we will arrange a callback suitable to your availability. You may also enjoy the benefits of your MyAccount online. We also made the self help options available in our 24/7 Helpdesk ( Support Guide ). We are also available via Facebook and Twitter. We working actively to address the email response time. I strongly suggest for you to give the abovementioned digital platforms a shot. My teammate responded to your August 27 feedback. We did not heard back from you. Thank you, The Team @ MyRepublic
Collapse
Showing 1-5 of 145 items.
MyRepublic is serious about Gamers
Aug 19, 2019
MyRepublic is serious about Gamers
Check out why MyRepublic Gamer is #1 in download performance on Steam - for a limited time, new customers that sign up to Fibre Gamer will receive a free speed upgrade and an upgraded router to take advantage of MyRepublic’s fastest ever plan.
MyRepublic People's Choice
May 2, 2019
Congratulations! MyRepublic are Consumer NZ’s People Choice Award for 2018
Congratulations to MyRepublic for being awarded the Consumer New Zealand’s People Choice for 2018 for internet service providers! 
Get the most out of your fibre broadband experience
Mar 31, 2019
Get the most out of your fibre broadband experience
There are a range of factors that can affect your fibre broadband performance. Don’t suffer with a poor broadband service. Check out these tips to get the most out of your fibre broadband experience. 
Is the future of traditional broadband in jeopardy?
Dec 13, 2018
Is the future of traditional broadband in jeopardy?
The verdict is in – and copper-based broadband in New Zealand has a firm expiration date. The Commerce Commission this week announced that it is seeking feedback on a proposal that will govern Chorus’ withdrawal of copper-based internet services.
Naked Broadband
May 31, 2018
Naked Broadband
If you’re after a reasonably cheap, simple broadband plan, have you considered going naked?
SPOTLIGHT: MyRepublic - Best Gaming Broadband Provider
Dec 11, 2017
SPOTLIGHT: MyRepublic - Best Gaming Broadband Provider
The second in our 'Internet Providers in the Spotlight' series covers MyRepublic, recently named Best Gaming Broadband Provider in NZ at the Broadband Compare Awards.
Login
×
Log in with
Sign up for free NZ Compare account
×
Log in with
3 Great Offers
×
Exclusive Offer
Unlimited Fibre 100 - ONLY $62.95/mth
Plus Bundle Discounts
T&C's apply
Exclusive Offer
Unlimited Fibre 100 - ONLY $62.95/mth
Plus Bundle Discounts
T&C's apply
UNLIMITED BROADBAND 
From $59.99/mth
On the Broadband Bundle plan 
T&Cs & $14.99 P&H apply
UNLIMITED BROADBAND
From $59.99/mth
On the Broadband Bundle plan
T&Cs & $14.99 P&H apply
$150 JOINING CREDIT
Exclusive Deal if you switch today
Limited time only
T&Cs apply
$150 JOINING CREDIT
Exclusive Deal if you switch today
Limited time only
T&Cs apply