Leave a review of MyRepublic

Reliability
7
Speed
7
Support
7
Features
7
Value
7

Terms of Use and Privacy Policy apply

MyRepublic

Best Gaming Broadband Provider

MyRepublic is the New Zealand’s first fibre broadband only Internet Service Provider (ISP). Their plans are truly unlimited and they're ready to unleash the potential of their fibre broadband network from Whangarei up north to Invercargill down in south. They believe in delivering an awesome internet experience for all kiwis at mass-market prices. All this with no lag, no limits and no holding back.

Beyond ultra-fast internet access, their Pure, Gamer and Business fibre broadband plans provide a customised, enhanced level of service that goes far beyond what is possible on older technologies such as ADSL, VDSL or Cable.

MyRepublic started in Singapore in 2011, where they shifted the ISP landscape dramatically and now they plan to do the same here. MyRepublic is committed to delivering the benefits of the UFB for all kiwis.

** NOTE: The above information has been provided by the ISP or reproduced from their website **

Total: 4.7
Reliability 4.9
Speed 5.7
Support 3.5
Features 4.8
Value 4.9
Average from 114 reviews
Showing 1-5 of 114 items.
2020-11-11 20:51:20
John Lawrenson 3.4
Paid up front for a connection nearly two weeks ago and still don't have a connection in the house I bought in October (even though fibre has been run to the house and the previous occupants had an account). It is impossible to call My Republic to find out what is going on. If you ring from a phone that is associated with the account then they block that number so you can't get through and you just hear an automated message telling you that you have to deal with their chat bots. If you call them from a different phone, they say that they will get someone to call you back, and then they record the number of that phone against the account and block it too. I have used five different phone numbers now and the same thing happens every time. The bots can't figure out how to answer my questions and keep telling me to talk to my landlord (even though I have said multiple times that I own the home). Eventually the chat bots give up and then you get a text message saying that "your conversation seems to have dropped out, you may find the answers you need at our support page", then you have to go back through the whole process again. Avoid My Republic like the plague, unless you have hours of your life to waste and enjoy having no internet. ...read more
Pros
Cons
The worst customer service I have ever experienced from any company, period. I can't get my internet connected, I can't get a refund, and I can't talk to a real person. Their reliance on chat bots is a nightmare to deal with. They make JetStar seem like a well run company. ...read more
2020-11-03 09:52:53
Ken Burke 5.0
No facility to talk to an actual onsite person, if you are suffering variable speeds,while paying max dollars for Gigabyte fibre speed.
Pros
Cons
Contact by email, not much use outside normal business hours(Stat Holidays etc)
2020-11-02 20:41:15
Igor 1.2
Customer service is pretty unreliable, not sufficient and lacks a lot of empathy for customers or new customers. Sales line is effective but when you need to setup the router you keep bouncing like a ping pong ball.
Pros
None
Cons
Awful customer service.
2020-10-29 15:37:52
Jo Daw 8.0
Chose my republic as they are the best value over 24 months (though only had to sign up for 12 initially). They also provide a gamer modem for $10 per month which was totally worth it as it's wifi coverage was far greater and provided much better speeds. Absolute must in my large home.
Read a response from the ISP
November 2, 2020
Response from the ISP
Hello Jo, thank you for the great review! One of our main goals is to produce satisfied customers, and we are really happy that we were able to achieve it with you. We will definitely pass this feedback onto the team. Cheers! - The Team @ MyRepublic
Collapse
2020-10-09 14:12:31
Michele Lynn 2.6
Dreadful experience. Can only make contact with them using chat which seems to take forever (allow yourself an hour to ask two questions) and very little communication. our speed was so bad and we paid for 950/500 mbps it was like going back into the dark ages. We have gone back to our previous provider who communicate via phone and offer a proper service.
Pros
Cons
Slow speed, no communication, poor attitude, don't deliver on the service you are paying for.
Read a response from the ISP
October 12, 2020
Response from the ISP
Hello Michele, we're sad to know that we didn't meet your expectations. We can’t fix the past but you have my personal commitment to improve the way our staff serves every customer. We're sorry to see you go however we sincerely wish you good luck with your new provider. Regards - The Team @ MyRepublic
Collapse
Showing 1-5 of 114 items.
MyRepublic is serious about Gamers
Aug 19, 2019
MyRepublic is serious about Gamers
Check out why MyRepublic Gamer is #1 in download performance on Steam - for a limited time, new customers that sign up to Fibre Gamer will receive a free speed upgrade and an upgraded router to take advantage of MyRepublic’s fastest ever plan.
MyRepublic People's Choice
May 2, 2019
Congratulations! MyRepublic are Consumer NZ’s People Choice Award for 2018
Congratulations to MyRepublic for being awarded the Consumer New Zealand’s People Choice for 2018 for internet service providers! 
Get the most out of your fibre broadband experience
Mar 31, 2019
Get the most out of your fibre broadband experience
There are a range of factors that can affect your fibre broadband performance. Don’t suffer with a poor broadband service. Check out these tips to get the most out of your fibre broadband experience. 
Is the future of traditional broadband in jeopardy?
Dec 13, 2018
Is the future of traditional broadband in jeopardy?
The verdict is in – and copper-based broadband in New Zealand has a firm expiration date. The Commerce Commission this week announced that it is seeking feedback on a proposal that will govern Chorus’ withdrawal of copper-based internet services.
Naked Broadband
May 31, 2018
Naked Broadband
If you’re after a reasonably cheap, simple broadband plan, have you considered going naked?
SPOTLIGHT: MyRepublic - Best Gaming Broadband Provider
Dec 11, 2017
SPOTLIGHT: MyRepublic - Best Gaming Broadband Provider
The second in our 'Internet Providers in the Spotlight' series covers MyRepublic, recently named Best Gaming Broadband Provider in NZ at the Broadband Compare Awards.
Login
×
Log in with
Sign up for free NZ Compare account
×
Log in with
3 Great Offers
×
offer
Unlimited Broadband from $59/m
When you BYO modem
Limited time offer
T&C's apply
offer
Slingshot Exclusive Offer
Unlimited Fibre 100 - ONLY $64.95/mth
Plus Bundle Discounts
T&C's apply
offer
Get a FREE Google® Chromecasts
And a free rental router
On a 12-month plan
T&C's apply