Leave a review about 2degrees Broadband

Reliability
7
Speed
7
Support
7
Features
7
Value
7

2degrees Broadband

Broadband Compare Awards Best Customer Service

Two Degrees Mobile Limited (as we are officially known) is New Zealand's newest full service telecommunications provider. 

Back in the 90s a visionary group of Maori challenged the crown through the Treaty of Waitangi and won the rights to 3G spectrum. Despite financial and regulatory adversity a Maori Trust (Hautaki) was established with the challenge of launching New Zealand’s third mobile network. 

Tex Edwards founded 2degrees in February 2001 and provided initial capital.  Later that year investments were made by Strive Masiyiwa’s Econet Wireless group and shortly afterwards the pan-Maori trust Hautaki.

After successfully advocating for critical regulatory realignment the company was fully capitalised in 2007 and construction of its mobile network began.

We commercially launched in 2009, significantly lowering the cost of mobile for Kiwis.

Tex Edwards sold his interests in 2degrees in 2016 after some 15 years of support for the company including as a senior executive, director and founding shareholder.

Since our launch we’ve been busy. We have the backing of a unique partnership of international and Kiwi investors that have enabled us to build a brand new mobile network, helping us to cover 98.5% of the places Kiwis live and work. In March 2015 we also acquired NZ's fourth largest ISP, and now offer broadband services as well as mobile to Kiwis across the country.

We've put in place a great team, led by our CEO Stewart Sherriff and an internationally experienced management team which has a wealth of experience in building and delivering excellent mobile telecommunication networks and services.

We all really believe in what we are trying to accomplish for our customers and New Zealand. We’ve even been lucky enough to be recognised for it along the way, with a number of awards for our customer service over the years.

And this is just the beginning...

** NOTE: The above information has been provided by the ISP or reproduced from their website **

Total: 5.5
Reliability 6.2
Speed 5.9
Support 5.3
Features 5.6
Value 5.2
Average from 66 reviews
Showing 51-55 of 74 items.
2017-12-07 03:06:17
cj wilton 3.2
Was good till 2degrees got involved, now nothing but problems, and long waits to talk to techos unable to help.
Pros
Was GREAT service with SNAP, now not so great.
Cons
Prices have crept up, service and data plans have crept down.
2017-11-20 10:30:55
simon collin 6.2
I loved Snap, and was disappointed when I was "sold" to 2 degrees. I made the mistake of changing plans at that time, which meant my old landline phones with voice mail incorporated no longer worked. It also committed me to a fixed term contract to pay off the new "free" modem, which provided no advantages over the old one . The switch was a hassle, and I loath the wait times to get to talk to someone. I have never rung them without being told that "we are experiencing a higher load of calls tahn normal....." Yeah right. ...read more
Pros
Reasonably reliable
Cons
Wait times to talk to anyone
2017-10-20 02:25:56
Bruce Hamilton-Irvine 6.6
I am at present looking for an ISP to take over from Vodafone.co.nz who I have been with since it was just called Ihug or Internet Home Users Group. I have found the company A1 or 10 out of 10 how ever you want to grade it. At any time they have been there for me whenever I had a problem, their IT staff have been really great. I will find it hard to find such a professional ISP to replace them. All I can say now is, thank you Vodafone for your past service.
2017-10-07 06:18:24
Pat Pritchett 3.6
When our broadband was snap, it was fabulous, the service was exceptional and we had no complaints at all. When it changed to 2 degrees, we have had regular drop outs, very slow speed, poor service as it takes forever to get an answer.
Pros
Price: They have continued our bundled landline, broadband price.
Cons
Poor service, slow speed, lately, increased drop outs.
2017-10-04 10:54:30
Ren 4.2
works great when its working but if you have a problem in the weekend they are useless. Customer support are very testing being past form accounts to technical then never calling back. Customer support was the main reason I left. other than that I guess they are just as good as everyone else. I did get a $10 discount by having my mobile with them, but really they are $10 more expensive. At the time I think it was good but with current pricing they are not competitive.
Pros
I did get a $10 discount by having my mobile with them, but really they are $10 more expensive. Until they lower their prices its not a good deal, it was when I signed up.
Cons
Works great when its working but if you have a problem in the weekend they are useless. Customer support are very testing being past form accounts to technical then never calling back. Lack of Customer support was the main reason I left. Over the 3 years it seems to have gotten slower also. ...read more
Showing 51-55 of 74 items.
The Commerce Commission warns four New Zealand internet providers
Aug 13, 2017
The Commerce Commission warns four New Zealand internet providers
News just breaking in the broadband world that four companies have received warnings from the Commerce Commission as they are considered to have breached the Fair Trading Act.
Fixed Wireless Broadband versus Fixed Line Broadband (ADSL, VDSL, Cable or Fibre)
Mar 15, 2017
Fixed Wireless Broadband versus Fixed Line Broadband (ADSL, VDSL, Cable or Fibre)
Internet providers in New Zealand offer different connection options to broadband subscribers.  These different broadband options are ADSL, VDSL, Cable, Fibre, and now Fixed Wireless.
Aug 2, 2016
Latest news on BroadbandCompare.co.nz 02.08.2016
 August 2016 Broadband Offers update – time for new Broadband plans and great internet deals. Today we have updated plans for a number of NZ ISPs:
Login
×
Log in with
Sign up for free NZ Compare account
×
Log in with
3 Great Offers
×
offer
EXCLUSIVE DEAL
Get 6 months HALF price
The deal expires 30/09/2019
offer
SPECIAL OFFER
Unlimited broadband bundle
from $64.99/month
offer
EXCLUSIVE DEAL
Unlimited broadband bundle
from just $65/mth